2016 Presidential Candidates

The will be held on Tuesday, November 8th, 2016  ♦  2016 Presidential Candidates

Follow the 2012 Presidential Candidates on  YouTube Follow the 2012 Presidential Candidates on Twitter Follow the 2012 Presidential Candidates on Twitter

Libertarian Candidates  Age & Birthdate
Libertarian Candidates  Ancestry
Libertarian Candidates  Books
Libertarian Candidates  Careers
Libertarian Candidates  Education
Libertarian Candidates  Military Service
Libertarian Candidates  Parents & Grandparents
Libertarian Candidates  Religion
Libertarian Candidates  Spouses
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Abortion
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Afghanistan
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Budget
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Business and Labor
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Civil Liberties
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Economy
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Education
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Environment
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Foreign Affairs
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Gun Control
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Health Care
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Immigration
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Iraq
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Marijuana
Compare Libertarian Candidates  National Security
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Same Sex / LGBT
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Social Security
Compare Libertarian Candidates  Taxes
Libertarian Candidates  Computer Literacy
Libertarian Candidates  Heroes
Libertarian Candidates  TV and Movies

  Republican Convention
    Chris Christie
    Rick Santorum
    Ann Romney
    Ted Cruz
    Mike Huckabee
    Condoleezza Rice
    Paul Ryan
    Clint Eastwood
    Jeb Bush
    Marco Rubio
    Mitt Romney
  Democratic Convention
    Debbie Wasserman Schultz
    Rahm Emmanuel
    Julian Castro
    Michelle Obama
    Sandra Fluke
    Elizabeth Warren
    Bill Clinton
    Caroline Kennedy
    John Kerry
    Jill Biden
    Joe Biden
    Barack Obama


Article VI, paragraph 3 of the U.S. Constitution stipulates,
"The Senators and Representatives before mentioned, and the Members of the several State Legislatures, and all executive and judicial Officers, both of the United States and of the several States, shall be bound by Oath or Affirmation, to support this Constitution; but no religious test shall ever be required as a qualification to any office or public trust under the United States."

The article implicitly precludes any questions concerning the religious affiliation or beliefs of a president, a fact that many claim, were purposely engineered by the Founding Fathers to accommodate the Unitarian and Deist beliefs among several of them, a few whom would later become president of the country.

This is further reinforced with the introduction of The 14th Amendment, adopted on July 9, 1868, which states:
"No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States."

There is no denying that the religious affiliations of several former presidents are suspect. Twelve, in particular, have been mired in controversy for the longest of time.

• John Adams
• Chester Arthur
• Ulysses S. Grant
• William Henry Harrison
• Rutherford B. Hayes
• Thomas Jefferson
• Andrew Johnson
• Abraham Lincoln
• James Madison
• James Monroe
• Zachary Taylor
• John Tyler

There is also the disagreement behind the classification of 21 former presidents as Episcopalian. The closest church to the White House, at one time, was the St. John's Church, of the Episcopalian denomination. Located a stone throws' away from the White House, the church was reputed to be highly selective of its members, and admission was seen as a status symbol, prompting many to claim affiliation. Case in point was on the assertion that Martin Van Buren and John Tyler were Episcopalians, when there was evidence that van Buren was a practicing Dutch Reformist/Protestant in New York, while Tyler's only surviving quote on religion was in defense of Catholics!

Former President Eisenhower's affiliation is also another cloudy area, as there is strong evidence he was a Jehovah Witness instead of Presbyterian.

However, for the purpose of brevity, we've compiled a list that presents the majority view of the religious affiliations of our 43 presidents.

List of Presidential Religious Affiliation by Denomination

Warren Harding, Harry Truman, Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton

John F. Kennedy

Congregationalist (Protestant)
Calvin Coolidge, Barack Obama (United Church of Christ)

Disciple of Christ (Protestant)
James Garfield, Lyndon Johnson

Dutch Reformed (Protestant)
Martin van Buren and Theodore Roosevelt

Episcopalian (Anglican)
James Madison, James Monroe, William Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Taylor, Franklin Pierce, Chester Arthur, Franklin Roosevelt, Gerald Ford and George H.W. Bush

Methodist (Protestant)
Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley and George W. Bush

Presbyterian (Scottish Protestant)
Andrew Jackson, James Polk, James Buchanan, Grover Cleveland, Benjamin Harrison, Woodrow Wilson, Dwight Eisenhower and Ronald Reagan

Quaker (Evangelical)
Herbert Hoover, Richard Nixon

John Adams, John Quincy Adams, William Howard Taft and Millard Filmore

George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Jackson

What about the candidates?



2012 Libertarian Presidential Nominee
Former Governor of New Mexico

Gary Johnson

Presidential Candidate Gary Johnson

Johnson Religion

Johnson is a non-practicing Lutheran.

More on Johnson  

Support our website with Google Plus

Comment on Religion

    © 2007-2012 libertarian-party.org
About Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Contact Us 2016 Candidates